Stalk the photographer

As I want to print black and white abstract photos on my t-shirts, I have looked into a few photographers who are doing this already. I included these photographers as I like certain aspects of the images they took and want to consider these aspects for my own photos.

Bats –

I like this image because of the mixture of focus and out of focus to create an ethereal feel and more life like, as if the pegs are indeed actually bats. The extreme blackness of the pegs and washing line combined with the light and ‘fluffy’ cloud background.

Casting Shadows –

This is my favourite image i have included, due to its simplicity of just focus on the stairs and the shadows they create, concentrating on shadow and a simple image subject is something I will consider for my own images.

Seven –

Again in this image, there is heavy focus on shadow but has been used much more differently, there is so much shadow, the photographer has concentrated on the negative subject within the image. Concentrating on a lot of shadow to highlight interesting features of an object is something I will consider.

Metal Plates –

This photo was taken for an abstract photography competition, and was my favourite image within the collection. The extreme focus on something so ordinary, but using light, shadow and angles to create and interesting image is what I want to base my own images upon. Texture is also very important within the image and is another aspect I could focus on for my images.

These images will help inspire my own photos, but also help with what I do not want to create. Some of these images appear quite commercial and easily viewed by anyone, I want my images to look more ‘handmade’ and rough, not so perfect or edited as I do not want my brand to come across as ‘perfect’ or airbrushed. I want a more ‘raw’ aesthetic.

Leave a Reply

