Chosen Two

I chose to look more in depth into two specific black and white photographers that caught my eye whilst researching suitable photographers that I could relate to my own project involving black and white photography.

The first photographer Chris Marker interested me due to the way he portrays a subject using an un-focused technique to create an interesting image but also polar opposite subjects within the same image to create a striking look, such as the elderly woman and the car crash. I really like this idea of using a technique to create an ‘imperfect’ image such as through the out of focus method.

The second photographer Ansel Adams is of course infamous in the photography world, however this particular book featuring black and white photography contains several interesting images of both people and objects. I chose to just feature the abstract images of every day objects such as glass and a bike, as the photos have been taken in a way to make the overall look of the image much more interesting. This has been done through close-ups of the objects to make the image more interesting and eye-catching rather than just standard photos of standard objects.

Both photographers can help me with my own photos as I can take certain methods they use within these particular images to create an interesting, black and white, abstract picture.

Leave a Reply

