Pitt Rivers Museum Review – Made for Trade.

The electric range of artefacts shown within the exhibition were shocking and unexpected. I feel this, as I am used to seeing exhibitions of objects which don’t usually catch my attention immediately. The exhibition also made me reflect on my own life and culture due to the wide variety of unusual objects. The stunning range of information on these unique objects lead me to thinking about the social and political backgrounds of the objects and how many of them would now be classed as socially unacceptable. This idea fuelled thoughts for my own project and how I would like to include these references to the past into my project.

After visiting this exhibition I have been able to decide on an idea for my own project, not just from one artefact, but from the exhibition as a whole.

Leave a Reply

