Nikes on my feet make the cypher complete.

I wanted to discuss a trend which has literally blown up and gone crazy in the last 2-3 years. Airmax and different variations of the shoe were originally intended for running and sport. However, several style groups have taken on the trainer. The main style of people I see wearing them are usually more like hipsters, but I like to wear them as a main feature of my outfit. In this particular outfit choice I went for an uber-girly-unicorn type thing, as my Nikes are custom and OH SO BRIGHT, but for me personally they are the main focus of my outfit and I created the outfit around them. This idea of taking a functional shoe and wearing them more casually has happened with other brands as well such as New Balance and Adidas. To make the shoe more casual and less sporty the brands combine colours, non-sport fabrics and even teaming up with designers to create a casual but unique shoe. Nike teamed up with Liberty London to make a collection of classic Nike trainers but with a ditsy and floral appearance. By doing this, Nike have made their audience even wider branching to the more fashion conscious but also a trainer style which is more accessible to women. Trainers tend to be more aimed at the male audience with dark colour palettes and a simple design, but because Nike involved a popular designer house such as Liberty, they show the awareness of trainers generally more aimed men and wanted something to change. I myself want to see even more differently styled people wearing trainers casually and not take the phrase ‘Fashion not Function’ too seriously. HAVE FUN WITH SNEAKERS!

2 thoughts on “Nikes on my feet make the cypher complete.

Leave a Reply

