And so it begins.

At uni we have been given a cultural based project, on which were to chose a culture(s) and then start to explore as much as we can about it, to grasp it fully! I chose to base mine around Russia, mainly Soviet Russia. I chose this culture as i have always been interested in Russia as a country but also the many political and social happenings, just within clothing. Through researching communist Russia and its clothing, I have uncovered so much underlying information which i was not even aware of. One of the things that has stuck with me was the term ‘STILYAGA’ this means ‘dandy’ with negative connotations. Basically if you dressed too stylishly you were not working enough! This is quite ironic, as I in fact writing this in my pyjamas. The image included is just something to help my project seem clear 🙂

img – http://traditionalrussiancostume.com/costumeinfo/view.php?go=sarafan1.jpg

Leave a Reply

